Regular price: $21.67

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Elmore Leonard, the author who has influenced more writers than any other, comes a collection of the stories that launched his phenomenal career. From the very first short story he ever wrote, "The Trail of the Apache", through five decades of classic western tales, this collection is a must-have for every fan of Elmore Leonard.
This collection includes the following stories:

"Blood Money"
"Saing with a Six-Gun"
"Trail of the Apache"
"Trouble at Rindo's Station"
"The Boy Who Smiled"
"The Tonto Woman"
"Hurrah for Capt. Early"
"Only Good Ones"
"The Colonel's Lady"
"You Never See Apaches..."
"Three-Ten to Yuma"
©2004 Elmore Leonard (P)2004 HarperCollins Publishers, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By A. Hochner on 01-20-13

Great, but not the "complete" western stories

What made the experience of listening to The Complete Western Stories of Elmore Leonard the most enjoyable?

The stories were all so good! The narrators were excellent. I'd read many Leonard novels, but never his western ones and never any of his short stories.

What did you like best about this story?

Leonard's quality as a writer, bringing detail to the portraits of the times, the place, the artifacts and, especially, the interactions among whites, blacks, Apaches, and Mexicans. He doesn't stint in showing the racism, prejudice and injustice of the Southwest in the 1880s and '90s.

Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favorite?

I can't say because there were so many vivid characters.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I just wished that some of the stories were longer or that there were more of them.

Any additional comments?

This audiobook is a SELECTION of 11 stories from the paper book that contains 30 stories. The stories themselves are unabridged, but the "complete" collection is not here. I wish they were. Moreover, the stories selected are presented out of the order they appear in the book, which is strictly chronological in order of publication, from 1951 to 1994. I wonder why this was done. I'm not blaming Audible for either of these issues.

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Warren on 02-06-15

Enjoying it but…

Any additional comments?

My only complaint is that this is sold as unabridged. When the cover image (taken from the book I realize) states THE COMPLETE WESTERN STORIES OF ELMORE LEONARD, and the audiobook is presenting six of those stories, it is an abridgement. Just because none of the stories themselves have been abridged doesn't make in an unabridged version of the book. Other than that the readers are good and the stories (the six presented) are quite good.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc