• The Collected Short Stories of Louis L'Amour (Unabridged Selections from The Frontier Stories, Volume One)

  • By: Louis L'Amour
  • Narrated by: John Bedford Lloyd
  • Length: 3 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 01-22-04
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Random House Audio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.3 (124 ratings)

Regular price: $14.60

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.60

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

No one more vividly captures the rugged majesty and enduring spirit of the American West than Louis L'Amour. Collected for the very first time are seven unabridged frontier tales from a legendary master of the genre. Volume One celebrates this remarkable voice in American fiction with a captivating blend of some of his best-loved work. Listeners are brought face-to-face with heroism in a most unexpected place in "The Gift of Cochise," as a single mother faces down an Apache war party. "Desperate Men" follows four escaped convicts running a gauntlet of double and triple crosses in a hunt for gold that will leave only one of them alive. In "The Skull and the Arrow," a beaten man finds the strength to confront his enemies in the discovery of a simple arrowhead. In "Marshal of Canyon Gap," a new face in town means nothing but trouble to marshal McLane, not only for Canyon Gap, but for the secret he's kept for too many years. In "The Defense of the Sentinel," a whiskey-soaked drunk wakes to find he's the only hope for a town surrounded by marauders. "Let the Cards Decide" is the story of a woman whose future hangs on the outcome of a card game, and the adventures continue with "Home Is the Hunter," the tale of a hardened gunfighter and the little girl who changes his rough way of life.
Brimming with history, unforgettable characters, and the pride of place that his listeners have come to expect, the first volume of The Collected Short Stories of Louis L'Amour is a lasting tribute to one of the greatest short story writers of all time.
©2003 Louis and Katherine L'Amour Trust (P)2003 Random House, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Vintage L'Amour." (Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Zac Pfaff on 11-22-17

A true page-turnerTurner!

A wonderful collection of wonderful short stories that exemplify the great writing quality of Louis L'amour.

Read More Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By Lady M on 08-01-17

Incomplete Stories.

My disappointment and the reason for only 3 Stars for story, is not that they were uninteresting but because they were incomplete. Needing to write your own endings to the majority of the stories they can end any way you want them to, but if your like me, you'd rather let the author write the endings.

I normally enjoy Louis L'Amour stories, but poor judgement in cramming too many stories into 3+ hours spoiled it for me. I would have preferred fewer complete stories. I'm sure the original stories had satisfactory endings.

John Bedford Lloyd gave a good performance.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc