The Cellist of Sarajevo

  • by Steven Galloway
  • Narrated by Gareth Armstrong
  • 5 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sarajevo, in the 1990s, is a hellish place. The ongoing war devours human life, tears families apart and transforms even banal routines, such as acquiring water, into life-threatening expeditions. Day after day, a cellist stations himself in the midst of the devastation, defying the ever-present snipers to play tributes to victims of a massacre. A true story of a cellist's resistance helps to form this pivotal event in Steven Galloway's extraordinary novel. Against this, the author touchingly describes three ordinary townspeople and their efforts to retain their humanity, sanity and autonomy as war takes hold of their lives. This bestselling novel is immediate, vivid and deeply affecting on audiobook, fully immersing the listener in the havoc of war.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One wonders if humans will ever be civilized

I'm very pleased to have the experience of this book. The cello music adds much to this particular story. It gives room for thought when the voice of the cello is there instead of the words.

The book is well crafted to make one think. The performance is excellent.

Could I be the cellist? What kind of life is my life? How would I behave? What makes any of us worthy of life, love, food, water, music? With war everywhere in all times, one can almost feel the weight of evil pushing from all directions. This book takes ideas of life, hope, and fear and braids them into some understanding of what war really is.
Read full review

- Elaine

Engrossing and Enlightening

I got this audiobook on the recommendation of a friend. I was glad I did. An enlightening look on the history and atrocities that took place in Sarajevo. At times truly sad, at other times bright spots of humor that showed humanity can still exist even in the most inhumane of situations.
Read full review

- Lynnore

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-11-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks