Regular price: $22.46

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.46

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From a hardscrabble village in Nova Scotia to the collapsing trenches of France, a debut novel about a family divided by World War I. In the tradition of Robert Goolrick's A Reliable Wife and Karl Marlantes's Matterhorn, P. S. Duffy's astonishing debut showcases a rare and instinctive talent emerging in midlife. Her novel leaps across the Atlantic, between a father at war and a son coming of age at home without him.
When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son, Simon Peter, must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief.
With the intimacy of The Song of Achilles and the epic scope of The Invisible Bridge, The Cartographer of No Man's Land offers a soulful portrayal of World War I and the lives that were forever changed by it, both on the battlefield and at home.
©2013 P. S. Duffy (P)2013 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"With warm, precise tones, David Marantz narrates this fascinating story. . . . Subtle characterizations force listeners to pay careful attention to the changing scenes, the horrors of war, and the long discussions about life. Marantz steadily weaves the two plots together in this heartrending story of the war to end all wars." (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Leonard on 12-30-13

Great Premier Novel

I had noticed this novel in the local bookstore and was intrigued by the jacket synopsis. Great character and plot development. The ending is somewhat surprising - a mix of disappointment, betrayal, rebirth and redemption. The narration was exceptional. Look forward to future novels.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By Ray Stewart on 05-03-14

Slow Start, Excellent Ending

This historical fiction of families living in Nova Scotia and involved with the Canadian Army during WWI, had a slow start and I was about to put it aside, but kept listening and was glad that I did. The book became better with each chapter. Although I wasn't interested in the battle descriptions, the characters were very real and believable.

Read More Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews