The Captain's Vengeance : Alan Lewrie

  • by Dewey Lambdin
  • Narrated by John Lee
  • Series: Alan Lewrie
  • 13 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It is early February, 1799, a year of war.
Sailing in the Caribbean, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is once again pursuing a chimera. A rich French prize ship he'd left at anchor at Dominica has gone missing, along with six of his sailors.
What starts as a straightforward search for it, and them, from Hispaniola to Barbados, far down the Antilles, leads Lewrie to a gruesome discovery on the Dry Tortugas and to a vile cabal of the most pitiless and depraved pirates ever to sail under the "Jolly Roger", and the suspicion that one of his trusted hands just may be the worst of them all.
Against his will - again - the usually irrepressible Lewrie is made his superiors' "cat's-paw" once more, and his covert mission this time is to go up the Mississippi in enemy-held Spanish Louisiana to the romantic but sordid port of New Orleans in search of pirates and prize, where one false step could betray Lewrie and his small party as spies. Beguilements, betrayal, and death lurk 'round every corner of the Vieux Carre, and it's up to Lewrie's quick but cynical wits to win the day for their survival, and wreak a very personal vengeance on his foes.


What the Critics Say

"Every bit as atmospheric and addictive as its predecessors." (Kirkus)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Would you try another book from Dewey Lambdin and/or John Lee?


Any additional comments?

I have enjoyed this series but this one is a solid miss! 9 hours into the book before the action begins, too much awkward sex, and most of the earlier characters are missing. Even try as he may, John Lee could not save this story.

Read full review

- Michael


I absolutely loved this book! the first Dewey Lambdin book I have ever read and I was hooked! I had to start with the first book and work up the series. I haven't been disappointed so far.
Read full review

- Dean

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-01-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio