The Captain's Daughter

  • by Meg Mitchell Moore
  • Narrated by Coleen Marlo
  • 11 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been.
Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift.
When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is direr than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love - and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a 17-year-old local who is at her own crossroads, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed.
Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, The Captain's Daughter is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath.

More

What the Critics Say

"Meg Mitchell Moore does it again! The Captain's Daughter is a heartfelt tale of family and love. Absolutely superlative work from one of my own favorite writers." (Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times best-selling author of The Identicals)
"Set in an enchanting small town in seaside Maine, The Captain's Daughter once again proves Meg Mitchell Moore an author who can effortlessly evoke a flurry of emotions on a single page. With a relatable cast of characters, this book highlights the challenges within our deepest relationships and the magnitude of our choices. Full of charm and heart, this novel was an absolute delight to read!" (Karma Brown, best-selling author of Come Away with Me and The Choices We Make)
"Open The Captain's Daughter and you've opened the window of a summer cottage in Maine - salty sea air seems to blow right off the pages. Meg Mitchell Moore has once again mastered the intricacies of family and love with her sharp wit, gentle heart, keen sense of place, and remarkable insight into human nature. From a multi-million dollar yacht to a familiar old fishing boat with a worn out reverse gear, there is always much more than rusty lobster traps lurking below the surface. Deeply held secrets, regrets, and yearnings arise. And the question 'Can you ever go home again?' becomes can you ever truly leave?" (Sere Prince Halverson, author of The Underside of Joy)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-18-2017
  • Publisher: Random House Audio