The Californios

  • by Louis L'Amour
  • Narrated by Erik Singer
  • 5 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Captain Sean Mulkerin comes home from the sea to find his family's Malibu ranch in jeopardy. The death of Sean's father has pushed his mother to the edge of financial ruin, and now it's up to Sean to find a way out. The rumor is that the elder Mulkerin found gold in the wild and haunted California hills, but the only clue to its whereabouts lies with an ancient, enigmatic Indian.
When Sean and his brother set forth to retrace their father's footsteps, they know they are in search of a questionable treasure - with creditors, greedy neighbors, and ruthless gunmen watching every move they make. Before they reach their destination, the Mulkerins will test both the limits of their faith and the laws of nature as they seek salvation in a landscape where reality can blur like sand and sky in a desert mirage.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It's not required to be Irish to believe.

L'Amour has perfectly captured that intangible whiff of the
Souls who came before the white settlers and breathed the mystique of concurrent worlds into all. My respect for him is boundless as he never allows any prejudicial slights to creep in and all races, especially the Native American, are truly equal in his tales. In the Californios, he shows his in depth of research of the territory's history and evolution from being Mexico to becoming the Golden Bear State. He does it so well it makes me wonder why my sixth grade history book was so dry and dull yet author L'Amour covers the the same era with color and action that I'll never forget this history lesson! A credit well spent and another waiting to see if we can find yet another L'Amour Mesmerizing tale!
Read full review

- dee

Slow to start but an avalanche ending.

I didn't think I would care for the story much, but being that it's LL, I roughed it out and pleased I did. Interesting twist.
Read full review

- Robert McCutchen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-02-2012
  • Publisher: Random House Audio