The Calcutta Chromosome

  • by Amitav Ghosh
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • 7 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From Victorian India to near-future New York, The Calcutta Chromosome takes listeners on a wondrous journey through time as a computer programmer trapped in a mind-numbing job hits upon a curious item that will forever change his life.
When Antar discovers the battered I.D. card of a long-lost acquaintance, he is suddenly drawn into a spellbinding adventure across centuries and around the globe, into the strange life of L. Murugan, a man obsessed with the medical history of malaria, and into a magnificently complex world where conspiracy hangs in the air like mosquitoes on a summer night.


What the Critics Say

"The Calcutta Chromosome is one of those books that's marketed as a mainstream thriller even though it is an excellent science fiction novel (It won the prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award)." ( review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

What fun!

This is a mix of biology, medicine, history, Sci Fi and a whopping good time. The humor is great as is the suspense. At first I had no idea where the story was going and then once I understood the different time frames it all made sense.
I'm going to listen to more from this author.
Read full review

- Laura

Science fiction or science history? Both!

This was offbeat but quite enjoyable. It has quite a lot of science history in it, told from a dystopic future world, and there is even a bit of ghost story to it. The most amusing part was the enthusiastic bumbling of the main protagonist in the story told in a voice that rings true (I had a co-worker like that once...) I'd recommend it, though there are a few caveats. It started a little slow. Because of the mix of the fiction and fact, it's hard to know which historical data can be trusted and which cannot. Also, the ending felt abrupt and unsatisfying. But until the last ten minutes, I steadily enjoyed it more and more.
Read full review

- Conor

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-15-2010
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio