Regular price: $20.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

" The Boy That Never Was is that powerful thing, a beautifully written mystery driven by its exploration of the characters' innermost hearts'' (Tana French)"A truly remarkable novel... Written in a captivating, lyrical style and brilliantly structured, the story grips your heart from the first pages and simply never lets go" (Jeffery Deave)"This is a debut novel that will catch fire" (Nelson DeMille)
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of The Boy That Never Was by Karen Perry. Read by Gerry O'Brien, Niamh Daly, Christopher Ragland and Roy McMillan.
You were loved and lost - then you came back...
Five years ago, three-year-old Dillon disappeared. For his father Harry - who left him alone for ten crucial minutes - it was an unforgivable lapse. Yet Dillon's mother Robyn has never blamed her husband: Her own secret guilt is burden enough. Now they're trying to move on, returning home to Dublin to make a fresh start. But their lives are turned upside down the day Harry sees an eight-year-old boy in the crowd. A boy Harry is convinced is Dillon. But the boy vanishes before he can do anything about it.
What Harry thought he saw quickly plunges their marriage into a spiral of crazed obsession and broken trust, uncovering deceits and shameful secrets. Everything Robyn and Harry ever believed in one another is cast into doubt. And at the centre of it all is the boy that never was...
The Boy That Never Was is a deeply atmospheric and masterfully crafted tale of love and loss that will chill you to the bone. Fans of Rosamund Lupton and Sophie Hannah will fall in love with this debut from Karen Perry.
©2014 Penguin Books Limited
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Olivia on 03-08-15

Great read

This book had me sitting by the edge of my seat from beginning to the end. It was a great read and storyline. It could easily be non fiction.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By nitapet on 08-07-14

Beautifully narrated.

Any additional comments?

Beautiful narration brought the characters to life as they each told the story from their view point. The story was a little slow and improbable in places and I think I might have given up without the skill of the narrators.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Peter A Connolly on 07-12-15

Enthralling

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes Excellent story and performance

What did you like best about this story?

Kept me guessing all the way to the end

Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favourite?

All

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Cry but also kept me enthralled all the way through

Any additional comments?

Excellent

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews