The Book of Unholy Mischief

  • by Elle Newmark
  • Narrated by Raul Esparza
  • 11 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Elle Newmark's richly seductive prose brings to life the color and scandal of 15th-century Venice. Through Luciano, a street urchin apprenticed to a great chef in the palace of the doge, Newmark tells a wicked tale of political and papal intrigue. In Venice where every whisper is a secret or a lie, Luciano's initiation into the chef's spicy world makes for deliciously suspenseful listening.The Book of Unholy Mischief is more than terrific historical drama; its a love story, an investigation into ancient religious secrets that haunt us today, and its a story of intrigue replete with pulse-pounding chase scenes, murderous assassins, torture chambers and conniving, desperate characters. It's beautifully written, authentically detailed, and fiendishly well-plotted. Listeners will want their friends to read or listen to it so they can talk about it over dinner in their favorite Italian restaurant.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Highly entertaining

I found this book engaging, often humorous, and well-written. It is definitely not young adult, as the first reviewer suggests. Although not everything is completely plausible, taken as a whole, it was well-researched and internally consistent. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Read full review

- K.D. Keenan

Depends on how young you think young adut is..

First and foremost, a well written historical based fiction is appropriate for any age that can separate fact from fiction. Having said that, many adults aren't ready either. But I liked this story. And if the behavior of the early church is shocking and upsetting to religious folk - get over it. It's what it was. Mostly, it's a mystery and adventure with a nice big buttery chunk of history in a format that educates while entertaining. Think of it as Dickens for the Pope crowd - there's a lot of "scary" stuff in his work too. :)
Read full review

- Annette

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-30-2008
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio