The Autumn Throne : Eleanor of Aquitane

  • by Elizabeth Chadwick
  • Narrated by Katie Scarfe
  • Series: Eleanor of Aquitane
  • 18 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

England, 1176. Imprisoned by her husband, King Henry II, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Queen of England, refuses to let her powerful husband bully her into submission, even as he forces her away from her children and her birthright.
Freed only by Henry's death, Eleanor becomes dowager Queen of England. But the competition for land and power that Henry stirred up among his sons has intensified to a dangerous rivalry. Eleanor will need every ounce of courage and fortitude as she crosses the Alps in winter to bring Richard his bride and travels medieval Europe to ransom her beloved son. But even her indomitable spirit will be tested to its limits as she attempts to keep the peace between her warring sons and find a place in the centres of power for her daughters.
Eleanor of Aquitaine's powerful story is brought to a triumphant and beautiful close by much-loved author Elizabeth Chadwick.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Beautiful story in the vein of Braveheart

Eleanor of Aquitaine is one of my favorite historical figures. Sometimes greatness is aligned with destiny. Not often but it happens and when it does it's magnificent. Such is the case with Eleanor and Elizabeth Chadwick has done her research. Fortunately, because Eleanor is so interesting there's not too much fiction needed. She's colored the black-and-white photos but the bones of the facts are there. Add William Marshall to the mix and you I have characters that are so inspiring it's hard to believe they lived. I highly recommend Chadwick's Marshall series also, and The Scarlet Lion (the story of Richard the Lion Heart). these three major players lives are so intertwined you can't tell the story of one without mentioning the others. What a great way to get a feeling for history.
I love these books as much as I did Braveheart. What magnificent people.
Read full review

- Reademandweep

Awesome series of books.

Loved. the book in this series. Couldn't wait to Finnish want to listen to more
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK