The Antiques

  • by Kris D'Agostino
  • Narrated by Amy McFadden
  • 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On the night of a massive hurricane, three estranged siblings learn that their father is dying. For the first time in years, they convene at their childhood home in Upstate New York, where the storm has downed power lines, flooded houses, and destroyed the family's antique store.
The Westfalls are no strangers to dysfunction. But never have their lives felt so out of control. Armie is living in their parents' basement. In Manhattan, Josef, a sex-addicted techie, is struggling to repair his broken relationship with his daughters. Their sister, Charlie, who works in Hollywood as a publicist for a wayward young actress, just learned that her son has been expelled from preschool. Amid the storm, they come together to plan their father's memorial service, only to learn his dying wish - they must sell his priceless Magritte painting. As their failures are laid bare, they discover that hope often lurks in the darkest of places. And so, too, can hilarity.
A rollicking tableau of life in all its messy complexity, The Antiques is a heartbreaking, nimble, laugh-out-loud funny send-up of modern family life.


What the Critics Say

"The Antiques is an often funny, often poignant portrait of a quirky family on the skids." (Shelf Awareness)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good story

This was a nice story. I listened to it oon audible and thought the narrator did a great job. I was intrigued by the family and loved how real the author made them. Great book club read!
Read full review

- Christie C.

Not as advertised

This book was marketed as funny - perhaps it was the timing of the narrator but I mostly found the characters wan and or totally shallow. This was more a picture of a family lacking character and compassion than a charming snapshot of the life of a family growing on in life as it was portrayed to be.
Read full review

- Shannon Long

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio