The Angels' Share : Bourbon Kings

  • by J. R. Ward
  • Narrated by Alexander Cendese
  • Series: Bourbon Kings
  • 12 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Number-one New York Times best-selling author J. R. Ward delivers the second novel in her Bourbon Kings series - a sweeping saga of a Southern dynasty struggling to maintain a façade of privilege and prosperity while secrets and indiscretions threaten its very foundation....
In Charlemont, Kentucky, the Bradford family is the crème de la crème of high society - just like their exclusive brand of bourbon. And their complicated lives and vast estate are run by a discrete staff who inevitably become embroiled in their affairs. This is especially true now, when the apparent suicide of the family patriarch is starting to look more and more like murder....
No one is above suspicion - especially the eldest Bradford son, Edward. The bad blood between him and his father is known far and wide, and he is aware that he could be named a suspect. As the investigation into the death intensifies, he keeps himself busy at the bottom of a bottle - as well as with his former horse trainer's daughter. Meanwhile the family's financial future lies in the perfectly manicured hands of a business rival, a woman who wants Edward all to herself.
Everything has consequences; everybody has secrets. And few can be trusted. Then, at the very brink of the family's demise, someone thought lost to them forever returns to the fold. Maxwell Bradford has come home. But is he a savior...or the worst of all the sinners?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I had this book on pre-order as I thought the first book in JRW's new series was off to a fairly good start... however, as much as I tried, I really couldn't get into this second slice of the Bradford family. This is not to say that it's not any good - as it will be a 5 star listen for a lot of listeners but I now know that I just don't like the 'soap' style of fiction so this series isn't for me I'm afraid.

There a lots of characters each with their own dramas going on in their lives and so lots of POV's and the Kentucky family are trying to come to terms with the death of their Father, why he killed himself.... or was it murder and the financial ruination that he left behind. There was a bit of romance, a 'snap-shot' description of a sex scene and lots of varying family interactions as they try to recover their Bourbon business and whatever else is going on in their lives. However, I only made it through part 1 so there would have been more.

Worth a credit? I love all of J.R. Ward's other books - especially her Black Dagger Brotherhood of Vampires so I'm disappointed with myself for not being able to get into this series.... but you like what you like I guess. It's a real shame but I'm going to have to say something that I thought I'd never ever say about one of her books... IMO, no, for me I regret using a credit on this listen as I now realize that I like one-on-one (or even two-on-one!!) love stories and I'll happily stick to them from now on..

Read full review

- CAROLYN "I love being swept away by a new romance and thankfully Audible's ever growing Library means I get to indulge myself over and over again"

Soap Opera for sure

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Maybe and only if I knew they were a fan of 80's style soap operas and never ending drama. Not the typical JR Ward novel for sure.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

I had a "Gone Girl" moment, where I decided I didn't really like most of the people in this story. She doesn't do very much to make them like able and if so, not for long. I wanted to strangle Jen/Gin and her louse of a husband. What despicable people. Her attempt to make her even slightly likable, fell flat on me. Least interesting was the mom finally coming out of her room. I expected more from her being in attendance, yet I yawned.

What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

The male voices were done best, with the exception of the Banker. That was just horrible. He sounded like Nacho Libre. She needs more than one narrator, there are two many characters and at many times, I had to rewind to make sure I knew who was talking, because outside of Nacho Libre, the men sounded the same. Not a fan of the female voices either. Again, I recommend he get some help next time.

Was The Angels' Share worth the listening time?

Yes, fairly so.

Any additional comments?

Not the typical. JR Ward story (i.e. BDB and the crazy Fallen Angels). I may read the next edition, but for sure will not pre-order. I may just wait until the library has it. Soap Operas annoy me somewhat, so I don't want to pay to continue the series. Only committed since I am such a JR Ward fan.

Read full review

- M. Thurman

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-26-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio