The Adventure of the Three Students

  • by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Narrated by David Timson
  • 0 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from The Return of Sherlock Holmes I collection.
When Sherlock Holmes met his demise in "The Adventure of the Final Problem," published in 1893, the distress of the unsuspecting reading public was profound. For years fans showed no signs of letting Sherlock Holmes lie down and die. Eventually, Doyle saw fit to continue his Holmes' canon and wrote a series of 13 short stories, The Return of Sherlock Holmes, published in 1905.
The series begins, inevitably, with the shock re-appearance of the master detective in "The Adventure of the Empty House." This plus 3 others are included in Naxos AudioBooks' first volume of Doyle's continuation of the famous bloodhound of a genius, read by master storyteller David Timson.
Though he has been away, it seems that Holmes has lost none of his remarkable qualities.


Audible Editor Reviews

Sherlock Holmes has been called to St. Luke's College to investigate a break-in of lecturer Hilton Soames' office. While out for tea, Soames returned to his office to find a key in his lock, and a copy of an exam spread throughout his office. As the exam will determine the winner of a large scholarship, Holmes must determine the culprit's identity, focusing on the three students who would benefit most. Arthur Conan Doyle crafts an entertaining mystery that David Timson performs with charm and gusto, capturing the disparate personalities of Holmes, Dr. Watson, Soames, and the students with perfect characterization.


What the Critics Say

"Beautifully produced, thoroughly satisfying rendition of four Holmes stories. English actor David Timson...clearly appreciates Conan Doyle's clever writing. Holmes is masterful....Timson's sensitive pacing and varied intonation make conversations spring to life, intensify dramatic moments, and highlight Conan Doyle's often disregarded humor." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-22-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks