The 13th Apostle

  • by Dermot McEvoy
  • Narrated by John Keating
  • 19 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The story - both romantic and terrifying - of how a handful of men, armed with nothing more than handguns and guts, forced the greatest nation in the world from their shores.
On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the general post office on O’Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.
The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad - with its thirteenth member, young Eoin - assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.
An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French and Leon Uris’s Trinity, The 13th Apostle is a story that will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

entertaining and informative

The story is fun and engaging. It also describes a very interesting period in Irish history. The narrator does an excellent job.
Read full review

- Mark Palmer

Enjoyed the history, not the bad sex

What did you love best about The 13th Apostle?

Great view into the "everyday rebel" in 1916-1922


Who was your favorite character and why?

Michael Collins-great personification of a historical figure, showed strengths, flaws and difficult choices before the young revolutionary


What about John Keating’s performance did you like?

Great Irish Accent. had a good distinction between characters


Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Man enough to admit I was fighting tears at the death of Mic Collins even though I very well knew it was coming


Any additional comments?

Really enjoyed the book, agree with other reviewers that the modern-day story was completely and entirely unnecessary. The author also has no experience or reason to describe sex...my 14 year old self could have done a better job on those parts. I recommend skipping as many "sex" scenes as possible.

Read full review

- Mark

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-14-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios