Regular price: $29.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The story - both romantic and terrifying - of how a handful of men, armed with nothing more than handguns and guts, forced the greatest nation in the world from their shores.
On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the general post office on O’Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.
The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad - with its thirteenth member, young Eoin - assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.
An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French and Leon Uris’s Trinity, The 13th Apostle is a story that will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.
©2014 Dermot McEvoy (P)2014 Audible Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Mark Palmer on 11-01-16

entertaining and informative

The story is fun and engaging. It also describes a very interesting period in Irish history. The narrator does an excellent job.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Mark on 05-04-16

Enjoyed the history, not the bad sex

What did you love best about The 13th Apostle?

Great view into the "everyday rebel" in 1916-1922

Who was your favorite character and why?

Michael Collins-great personification of a historical figure, showed strengths, flaws and difficult choices before the young revolutionary

What about John Keating’s performance did you like?

Great Irish Accent. had a good distinction between characters

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Man enough to admit I was fighting tears at the death of Mic Collins even though I very well knew it was coming

Any additional comments?

Really enjoyed the book, agree with other reviewers that the modern-day story was completely and entirely unnecessary. The author also has no experience or reason to describe sex...my 14 year old self could have done a better job on those parts. I recommend skipping as many "sex" scenes as possible.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Amazon Customer on 11-22-15

1916- 2016 a rare story

Loved it, "a drink is as good as a payer".
An excellent insight into a tumultuous period in history.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Pamela Hughes on 05-06-15

Mixed feelings

A lot of the 1916 story I found interesting but I couldn't stand the modern narrative between the grandson and his wife, it really distracted from the story.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Wanda Fenner on 11-09-17

Fell in love with Michael Collins all over again!

omg what a journey! I absolutely loved this book. It was so brilliantly written, so utterly believable , so infused with actual happenings that I had to look up various people to see if they were real! I found myself 'seeing 'it all as if I were watching a movie screen or better still walking the streets of Dublin!
I listened for hours on end. I never wanted to put it down. Even if I only had 5 minutes to spare I'd put it on! However, I don't recommend that because it's addictive and extremely hard to put down for any reason!
i only have one criticism. I wish the author had left the sexual innuendo out. I say this not because I don't like sex scenes but they were totaly incongruous and superfluous .
I seriously wish it wasn't over and look forward to reading again and again!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc