The 13th Apostle

  • by Dermot McEvoy
  • Narrated by John Keating
  • 19 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The story - both romantic and terrifying - of how a handful of men, armed with nothing more than handguns and guts, forced the greatest nation in the world from their shores.
On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the general post office on O’Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.
The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad - with its thirteenth member, young Eoin - assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.
An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French and Leon Uris’s Trinity, The 13th Apostle is a story that will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoyed the history, not the bad sex

What did you love best about The 13th Apostle?

Great view into the "everyday rebel" in 1916-1922

Who was your favorite character and why?

Michael Collins-great personification of a historical figure, showed strengths, flaws and difficult choices before the young revolutionary

What about John Keating’s performance did you like?

Great Irish Accent. had a good distinction between characters

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Man enough to admit I was fighting tears at the death of Mic Collins even though I very well knew it was coming

Any additional comments?

Really enjoyed the book, agree with other reviewers that the modern-day story was completely and entirely unnecessary. The author also has no experience or reason to describe 14 year old self could have done a better job on those parts. I recommend skipping as many "sex" scenes as possible.

Read full review

- Mark

Let me know when it's 1919 again

As other reviewers mentioned, the historical element of the book (which is happily the vast majority of it) is great--exciting, accurate as far as I could tell, and with interesting personalities. But I found Johnny and Diane, our modern day narrators, to be insufferable--when not making bizarre non-sequitur sexual innuendos, they're over-explaining what was just read as if it were a Wishbone episode, with inane questions from Diane and smug responses from Johnny.
However, the historical narrative is compelling enough and the reader is engaging enough that I did like it, overall. I knew very little about Ireland's journey from rising to civil war before, and now I feel as if I had been there, which is in the end all I want from a historical fiction novel!
Read full review

- Anna Murray "acmurray"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-14-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios