Temple Secrets

  • by Susan Gabriel
  • Narrated by Susan Gabriel
  • 9 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed writer, Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Best Book of 2012 by Kirkus Reviews).
Every family has secrets, but the elite Temple family of Savannah has more than most. To maintain their influence, they've also been documenting the indiscretions of other prestigious southern families, dating as far back as the Civil War. When someone begins leaking these tantalizing tidbits to the newspaper, the entire city of Savannah, Georgia is rocking with secrets.
The current keeper of the secrets and matriarch of the Temple clan is Iris, a woman of unpredictable gastrointestinal illnesses and an extra streak of meanness that even the ghosts in the Temple mansion avoid. When Iris unexpectedly dies, the consequences are far flung and significant, not only to her family - who get in line to inherit the historic family mansion - but to Savannah itself.
At the heart of the story is Old Sally, an expert in Gullah folk magic, who some suspect cast a voodoo curse on Iris. At 100 years of age, Old Sally keeps a wise eye over the whole boisterous business of secrets and the settling of Iris's estate. In the Temple family, nothing is as it seems, and everyone has a secret.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story - Worst ever narrator

What did you like best about Temple Secrets? What did you like least?

Plot and character devlopments through the plot were great. Kept me wanting more. Luckily I also had the ebook so I quit listening after 20 pages. Had I not had the book I would have asked Audible to take back.. Stilted narration.

What did you like best about this story?

Air of mystery and of the past

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Gabriel?

Lorelei King, any other southern narrator

Could you see Temple Secrets being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

not really...

Read full review

- Priscilla Wild

Susan Gabriel should fire her producer!

A really interesting and funny story, but the decision to have the author read was a very bad one. To capture an audiobook well takes talent and experience. SG is a good writer, but her read of the book is a big disappointment- probably for her, too.
Read full review

- sue sims

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-07-2015
  • Publisher: Wild Lily Arts