Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

To save his soul, William Marshal takes the perilous road to Jerusalem, but the greatest danger he faces there is losing his heart.
England, 1219. Lying on his deathbed, William Marshal, England's greatest knight, sends a trusted servant to bring to him the silk Templar burial shrouds that returned with him from the Holy Land 30 years ago. It is time to fulfil his vow to the Templars and become a monk of their order for eternity.
As he waits for the shrouds' return, he looks back upon his long-ago pilgrimage with his brother Ancel and the sacred mission entrusted to them - to bear the cloak of their dead young lord to Jerusalem and lay it on Christ's tomb in the church of the Holy Sepulchre.
Jerusalem, 1183. In the holiest of all cities, the brothers become embroiled in the deadly politics, devious scheming and lusts of the powerful men and women who rule the kingdom. Entangled with the dangerous, mercurial Paschia de Riveri, concubine of the highest churchman in the land, William sets on a path so perilous that there seems no way back for him, or for his brother. Both will pay a terrible price, and their only chance to see home again will be dependent on the Templar shrouds.
In this glorious adventure, best-selling author Elizabeth Chadwick sweeps the listener to medieval Jerusalem in a story perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Philippa Gregory.
©2018 Elizabeth Chadwick (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Manchester Mama on 03-14-18

Beautifully written and very well narrated.

I found this story to be believably written and a wonderful addition to Elizabeth Chadwicks first book about William Marshall. (although it stands alone in its own merit).
Full of rich descriptions of Jerusalem and contrasting scenes of the later time in Caversham, I was particularly drawn to the carefully worded descriptions of the dying man in his last days. Very insightfully portrayed.
This story is extremely well read by Jonathan Keebler. I have truly enjoyed every word and shall seek out further books he has narrated. Recommended.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Su L on 03-23-18

Absolutely phenomenal

This book will remain a treasure in my library. The story , the man, the tenderness, and the love portrayed in this book had me weeping at the end as if the demise of William were like losing one of my own. Meticulously researched , skilfully written, and beautifully performed made listening to this book one of pure pleasure and bliss.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc