Talking Heads

  • by Alan Bennett
  • Narrated by Alan Bennett, Full Cast
  • 3 hrs and 15 mins
  • Performance

Publisher's Summary

This is the first collection of six individual portraits from the master of the monologue. Performed by the author and five of Britain's leading actresses, Alan Bennett's tales are full of quirky, insightful detail that bring the characters vividly to life. From Julie Walters' portrayal of an actress seeking fame to Anna Massey's alcoholic vicar's wife, these individuals are linked by their self-delusion, desperation, and vulnerability. In these compelling pieces, Bennett displays the wry observation, knowing irony, and tender understatement that have ensured his rightful place at the forefront of contemporary writing. This collection includes A Chip in the Sugar with Alan Bennett; A Lady of Letters with Patricia Routledge; Bed Among the Lentils with Anna Massey; Soldiering On with Stephanie Cole; Her Big Chance with Julie Walters; and A Cream Cracker Under the Settee with Thora Hird.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Quirky, funny and brilliant

Alan Bennett is my all-time favorite writer of dialogue and monologue. He is a master at showing a character's inner feelings without the character's actually knowing he or she is revealing much of anything. And he has an uncanny knack for creating the talk of women: every line, even when pretty far out, sounds absolutely true to the character.

These talents make the "Talking Heads" monologues memorable, ironic and funny at the same time that they are moving and powerful. In particular, "A Lady of Letters," with Patricia Routledge, and "Bed Among the Lentils," with Anna Massey demonstrate the quiet lives of desperation lived by many women.

This is material guaranteed to make you laugh or chuckle and yet be moved by the speakers. Highly recommended!
Read full review

- Nancy J

Impeccable, terrific, and moving

These are some of the most exquisite pieces of acting I've ever heard. Each seemingly mundane character harbors, then reveals some unimaginable secret that bubbles up from the undercurrent of a seemingly normal life.
Read full review

- Ron L. Caldwell

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-23-2005
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited