Swing Time

  • by Zadie Smith
  • Narrated by Pippa Bennett-Warner
  • 13 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An ambitious, exuberant new novel moving from Northwest London to West Africa, from the multiaward-winning author of White Teeth and On Beauty.
Two brown girls dream of being dancers - but only one, Tracey, has talent. The other has ideas: about rhythm and time, about black bodies and black music, what constitutes a tribe or makes a person truly free. It's a close but complicated childhood friendship that ends abruptly in their early 20s, never to be revisited but never quite forgotten either....
Dazzlingly energetic and deeply human, Swing Time is a story about friendship and music and stubborn roots, about how we are shaped by these things and how we can survive them. Moving from Northwest London to West Africa, it is an exuberant dance to the music of time.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A sandwich, where the bread is the best part

A somewhat evocative story, Swing Time offers a fascinating beginning and ending that almost made it worth the lengthy investment in listening to the full book. The early narrative is promising and then it's set aside for a tale involving a host of unsympathetic characters and a meandering storyline. There was so much potential in continuing to develop the tension between the two initial characters, but this relationship was unfortunately abandoned until the final chapters.
I listen to 3-4 audio books per month and finding an interesting read is such a prize. Although at times well written and intriguing, Swing Time was not a great book. I can't recommend it.
Read full review

- Becky

Overly long, ultimately disappointing

Way too long, a rather rambling, somewhat pointless narrative. Be prepared to spend long listening hours with self-absorbed, clueless characters. Not a single one was anyone I'd want to meet. The narrator was fabulous, though.
Read full review

- Ruth Bain

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-15-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio