Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Embracing science fiction, suspense, and the supernatural, this genre-bending collection explores the contradictions and complexities of the human condition.

A man in a dead-end job finds his life changes by an encounter with his past
A stranger charms his way into the life of an attractive woman - but his motive is shrouded in mystery
In a bombed-out future, a young man nurses a very private obsession
A man growing old finds himself haunted by ghosts - but are they only inside his imagination?

Sometimes exuberantly funny, sometimes bittersweet, Sugar will delight both new listeners and those familiar with Matthew Waterhouse's novels.
©2016 Matthew Waterhouse (P)2016 David Darlington
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Alabama purchaser on 10-20-16

Best thing I've read in 30 years

Where does Sugar rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Very top

What did you like best about this story?

The thing I liked most was the diversity of the four stories in this collection

What does Matthew Waterhouse bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The author is a good actor and displays depth and nuance in multiple characters. The various characterizations and accents display an exciting talent.

Any additional comments?

The thing that surprised me most about this collection is that I've found myself thinking about these hilarious and sad stories for weeks afterward, haunted by them and compelled alternatively to reread passages and relisten to the audios time and again. The tales are entertaining on the surface level as well as fine literature for the thinking person. They're even better the second and third time around. The unabridged Audible version of this collection is most enjoyable, with Waterhouse giving pitch perfect voice to the multiple characters. It is highly recommended. I have not read such a fun, entertaining and fulfilling work in 30 years.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc