Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Storm Clouds Rolling In is the very first book in the ongoing Bregdan Chronicles historical novel series.  It's readers like you who have turned it into a world-wide best-seller. Thank you!
Carrie Cromwellcomes of age as the dark clouds of the Civil War swallow the country. Born with a fiery spirit and a strong mind, she finds herself struggling between the common wisdom of the South and the truth she has discovered.
The activities of the Underground Railroad and her close friendships with the Cromwell Plantation slaves create difficult choices. But when her decisions put her at odds with her heritage, and challenge her dreams, will she be able to give up all that is precious to her?
This first book of The Bregdan Chronicles historical fiction series will pull you in and never let you go. You'll experience the Civil War era (and all the years to come) through the eyes of both White and Black, free & slave, Southern & Northern - and you'll fall in love with every character.
©2010 Ginny Dye (P)2013 Ginny Dye
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Patricia W. on 06-09-15

365 days until the powder keg explodes.

I am assuming, since you are reading this review that you know this series is set in Virginia during the last year of peace prior to the most bloody American Civil War. I have always enjoyed American History and especially enjoy good Historical Fiction books. Though the characters are not real, they help you grasp the times and struggles of our past. In fact, a well written and researched Historical novel encouraged my desire as a young woman to know more about the real events. I am not going to spoil the story by telling you anything about the author's creations. However, I will say that this is the first book of Ginny Dye's that I have ever read and I found it entirely engrossing. Dye eases you into the story one character at a time and not only are pulled into a tapestry of personalities but she also weaves in truth of God without being preachy. No scene in this book felt contrived nor did I feel like the characters make choices that didn't flow within the tale. Prior to the story there is a note from the author explaining why she chose to use the N word in her work despite feeling very strongly that it should never be used today. This series is appropriate for anyone over the age of 13. Though I would caution parents to explain why the N word should never be used today. I truly think this will be one of my new favorite authors and I already got my Mom started reading this series. Please note, there are a couple rough spots with the audio. There is a line of Carrie's within the first five minutes of chapter one that is garbled, but I figured out what it was supposed to be. also, there are a few long pauses between sentences and a few that were repeated. These are small errors, but I hope Audible will fix them. I plan to call and tell them about it as well. I found the narrator to be very good and hope that she will continue throughout the Series. If you are like me, I go through some series very quickly. Do be aware that this series has currently 7 books available but only the first 5 are on Audible. I hope I don't have to wait too long for the last two books.
If you are looking for some other Historical Fiction written by Christian Authors here are some suggestions:
The Secret of the Rose Series by Michael Phillips and Judith Pella - 4 books covering the rise of Hitler to the fall of the Berlin Wall.
The Zion Covenant Series by Bodie and Brock Thoene - Pre-World War Two Europe.
The Zion Chronicles by Bodie and Brock Thoene - The Founding of Israel.
The Zion Legacy Series by Bodie and Brock Thoene - The founding of Israel and going back to biblical times.
The A. D. Chronicles by Bodie and Brock Thoene - 12 books set in Jesus's day and ministry.
The Corrie Bell Hollister Series by Michael Phillips.
The House of Winslow Series by Gilbert Morris - 40 book series from Puritain Times to later 20th century.
The Zion Diaries by Bodie and Brock Thoene
The Shiloah Legacy Series by Bodie and Brock Thoene - End of WWI to Great Depression era.
The American Dream Series by Michael Phillips - American Civil War period.
These are just a few of the most powerful and well written Christian Historical Fiction series that I have read and reread. Unfortunately, the majority of these suggestions are not available on Audible at this time. So I list them and a suggestion to Audible to make these series available because I would gladly buy them and enjoy them again. Hint Hint Audible Get these series PLEASE!!

Read More Hide me

23 of 23 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Catherine on 06-28-15


love the history & story but narrator is tough to listen to for long periods.

Read More Hide me

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews