• Standard Bearer

  • Sword of Rome, Book 1
  • By: Richard Foreman
  • Narrated by: Ric Jerrom
  • Series: Sword of Rome, Book 1
  • Length: 1 hr and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 07-11-14
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audible Studios
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars 3.4 (17 ratings)

Regular price: $8.25

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $8.25

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer is the first book in a series of novellas featuring Lucius Oppius and the campaigns of Julius Caesar.
Britain, 55 BC: Julius Caesar’s invasion of the wild and mineral-rich land is becalmed, a stalemate exists between the forces of Rome and Britain. But the standard bearer of the Tenth Legion, Lucius Oppius, is about to display a depth of courage that will change the course of the invasion - and history.
Encamped upon the south coast Caesar, admiring the courage and skill of his standard bearer, orders Oppius to accompany a native British archer and go behind enemy lines. His mission is to hunt down a treacherous Roman agent, who is recruiting Britons to fight against the armies of Rome in Gaul. Yet not all is what it seems and Oppius will fight for his life, as well as for Caesar and the glory of Rome, to complete his mission and find his way back home.
Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer brings together history and action and adventure in a story which will appeal to fans of both Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.
©2013 Richard Foreman (P)2014 Audible Studios
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 03-29-17

To many modern references.

Could me much better. I have most if Foremans books on kindle and a few on Audible ...I hope they get better as this I 2tjink is his first attempt.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc