Regular price: $23.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $23.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.
On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, DC, he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: He is queer - an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders - and the one person who seems not to judge him.
When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.
In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.
©2018 Uzodinma Iweala (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By mstap on 03-11-18

Narrator makes the book

I liked the book, but the second half wasn’t so good. The narration made it a good read. The story started off so strong but midway through sort of fizzled. It was a good book but could have been so much better with a different second half. Bravo to the narrators! They kept me listening.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Kevin Ratliff on 03-08-18

I finished it in 1 day!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, it is a story that needs to be told.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The most interesting part of the story is the fighting and coming to terms with Niru's sexuality. Also, the new relationship/romance that Niro finds.

What does Prentice Onayemi and Julia Whelan bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Prentice Onayemi has become 1 of my favorite narrators ever. He brings so much to this audio book, with the way he voices the different characters. I kept thinking of other books that I have read that I wish he had narrated. Amazing! I like Julia Whelan's reading as well.

If you could take any character from Speak No Evil out to dinner, who would it be and why?

I would go to dinner with Niru and just talk to him. Let him no that he is a great person just the way he is.

Any additional comments?

I like this novel, and I think the story is a good story that needed to be told this way. But I wish there were more happy or positive story with black gay males featured in them. Let them win some time. Maybe that would be too boring?

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc