Something Rotten : Thursday Next Novels

  • by Jasper Fforde
  • Narrated by Emily Gray
  • Series: Thursday Next Novels
  • 12 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Jasper Fforde's time-traveling and fiction-jumping detective Thursday Next is an international hit with fans and critics. Beginning with The Eyre Affair, a Book Sense Top 76 Pick, Thursday's adventures have all cracked The New York Times best seller list.After spending her time chasing a stray Minotaur into pulp Westerns, filling in for Joan of Arc, and raising her infant son, Friday, Thursday needs a break in the real world. But her return to Swindon is far from relaxing. Rogue fictioneer Yorrick Kaine and the evil multinational Goliath Corporation are trying to rule the world, and a deadly assassin called the Windowmaker is tracking Thursday's every move. To top it all off, her husband is still missing after being eradicated from the timestream before they met.
Fans of Douglas Adams and Monty Python won't want to miss this charming detective adventure sure to tickle the funny bone and stimulate the literary mind.

More

What the Critics Say

"A brazenly witty series." (The New York Times Book Review)
"Opening one of Jasper Fforde's novels means stepping into a playful new universe....It's easy to be delighted by a writer who loves books so madly. (The New York Times)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Re: the different narrator

This book is provided by Recorded Books not Highbridge Audio. I suspect that's why the narrator is different. Too bad - Elizabeth Sastre had it down pat!
Read full review

- Karen

Best one yet!

Of the Thursday Next series, this is my favorite. I haven't laughed out loud this much while enjoying a book in a long time. I would give the book a 10 for its overall witty fun. I felt the ending was too muddled and bogged down an otherwise perfect book. I, too, missed Ms. Sastre's narration and almost opted to read the book instead of listen. However, I decided to keep an open mind, enjoyed the narration for the most part and am glad I listened!
Read full review

- Diana

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-29-2004
  • Publisher: Recorded Books