Regular price: $20.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Sofie's a young Greek American woman living in Queens. If you'd asked her a few months ago what she'd be doing now, she'd have replied, "I'm going to be married to a wonderful guy and working at my father's, or maybe my grandfather's, Greek restaurant."
That was before Sofie caught the groom in a compromising position with her maid of honor just before the wedding. Before she punched the priest who tried to get her to marry the cad anyway. Before she chucked her engagement ring into the garbage disposal. Before she became a junior detective for her uncle's detective agency.
Now Sofie's searching for a runaway wife possibly wanted by the FBI and for a vicious neighborhood mutt. And she's got the hots for Jake Porter, an Australian mystery man that Sofie suspects is either a bounty hunter or a federal agent.
©2005 Lori and Tony Karayianni (P)2005 Blackstone Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"One of the genre's most beloved authors." (Rendezvous)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Sassbot on 07-26-08

Don't expect too much

A fun story with a times a little too much going on to make this a great listen. I enjoy the main character for the most part. I didn't enjoy the meaning of life and self reflection bits at the end. That kind of ruined the whole goofy story for me. The whole story had kind of Stephanie Plum (Janet Evanovich) feeling but not nearly as well written.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By pakkmom on 01-25-07

Light entertainment

I didn't read any of the reviews before I bought the book so I hadn't realized there would be similarites to other books ("Greek Wedding", "Plum books"). Still, it was an enjoyable listen. Anna Fields has a great voice for Sofie and while she convinced me with her Greek accent she wasn't quite so convincing with her male voices. Old males were fine, it's the younger ones which were less effective. I agree that the plot was a bit erratic. What happened to Grandpa's medal, actually, I'm not even sure where or when Grandpa's medal was introduced. What happened to the diamond from Grandma's ring? And the "dog from hell" did a strange turn at the end. But it passed the time away during boring chores and car rides and Sofie made me smile.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc