Smoky Mountain Horrors

  • by Weston Ochse
  • Narrated by Weston Ochse
  • 4 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Set mostly in Appalachian country, backwood characters will leave you laughing in pain and gasping in horror. You will learn something new about Weston's horrific mountain tales every time you listen. They are not for the feint of heart. Stories include "Appalachian Easter Outhouse Feud", "Chorus of Earthly Rage", "Catfish Gods", "Pitfighter Serenade", "Summer Planting", "Sweet Little Piggy", "The Qualities of Mercy", "The Rememory Man", "The Winnowing", "The Smell of Leaves Burning in Winter", "Tender Hearts Taste Better in Butter", and "Fishes Dream of Lonely Things".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Avoid - a complete waste of time

I enjoyed the first and last stories in this collection. I wouldn't not have listened to the rest had I not somehow felt that I wasn't getting my money's worth otherwise (and been a captive audience in a moving vehicle). Mr. Ochse is not a skilled writer, and these stories are, in a word, boring. Don't bother.
Read full review

- Aaron

Uneven, if not slightly endearing weird fiction

What did you like best about Smoky Mountain Horrors? What did you like least?

Nice to see an author write and perform his own work, the stories themselves were run-of-the-mill weird tales or horror stories, but it was nice to hear the author read and perform the characters. The score between stories was fine, but some of the sound effects took away from the stories

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

The audiobook is a variety of short stories, some with better endings, some with worse.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

Several of the author/narrator voices were grating, but overall the reading was fine.

Do you think Smoky Mountain Horrors needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

I would invite the author to write further stories, it is nice to read/listen to a collection of stories that take place in one region, but no follow-up to this particular collection would be required in any way.

Any additional comments?

Short story collections on Audible, this one included, are usually pretty entertaining to listen to.

Read full review

- Eric

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-11-2009
  • Publisher: Big Happy Family, LLC