Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Despite her innate ambition and summa cum laude smarts, Kate Pearson has turned into a major slacker. After being dumped by her handsome French "almost fiancé", she abandons her grad school plans and spends her days lolling on the couch, leaving her apartment only when a dog-walking gig demands it. Her friends don't know what to do other than pass tissues and hope for a comeback while her practical sister, Angela, pushes every remedy she can think of, from trapeze class to therapy to job interviews.
For reasons no one (least of all Kate) understands, she manages to land a job in the admissions department at the prestigious Hudson Day School. In her new position, Kate learns there's no time for self-pity during the height of the admissions season. Meanwhile, Kate's sister and friends find themselves keeping secrets, hiding boyfriends, dropping bombshells, and fighting each other on how to keep Kate on her feet. On top of it all, her cranky, oddly charming, and irritatingly handsome neighbor is more than he seems.
Through every dishy, pause-resisting twist, it seems that one person's happiness leads to another's misfortune, and suddenly everyone, including Kate, is looking for a way to turn rejection on its head, using any means necessary - including the truly unexpected.
©2016 Amy Poeppel (P)2016 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By RueRue on 01-16-17

For fans of "Where'd You Go, Bernadette ?"

I wasn't a fan of WYG,B, and I thought this was similar in tone and humor. Unrealistic characters, some of them really unlikable. The narration was a bit too exaggerated, not sure if that's the narrator's choice or the directors. In any event, it cheapened this already silly story.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Champlain Mom on 01-06-17

Entertaining Romp

Witty, satisfying and intelligent story about twenty-somethings coming of age. Highly recommended!
A long car ride flew by.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc