Sleeping Giants

  • by Sylvain Neuvel
  • Narrated by full cast
  • 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a literary thriller fueled by a quest for truth - and a fight for control of earthshaking power.
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved - its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand's code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of relic. What's clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history's most perplexing discovery - and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

More

What the Critics Say

"This stellar debut novel...masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction...." (Kirkus Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Such a shallow story

The premise is awesome, so awesome that I pre ordered the book and waited eagerly for it to be available.

It's super short and the story seems so rushed, sub plots that should have been expanded were left behind to accelerate a much larger plot that was pretty weak. I was expecting a start to a great new science fiction universe or at least a thrilling science fiction narrative similar to contact or the Martian. What I got was a rejected script for an episode of stargate sg1.

The characters were fine, they could have been great, the story jumped around a lot and I barley got to know them, which is a shame.

Worst of all the ending was so unfulfilling, and the attempt at a cliffhanger ending was foiled by the lack of character development. I just did not know enough about them to care about what was happening.

Super disappointed by this book, more so by the fact that it could have been one of the all time great scifi books.

On a better note, the cast reading the book was great, I usually don't like ensemble casts, this book might get me to look further into them.
Read full review

- Chris

Entertaining

I'm a bit surprised at the extremely negative reviews. It seems there is a trend on this site that something is either a masterpiece or utterly terrible. I know I have been guilty of this myself in the past, but I really think we need to readjust our caliber system here folks.

To me, a three star book is average. It's entertaining, moves along, and isn't a waste of time. That describes this book perfectly.

It's a fun concept, delivered in an engaging way. Sure, there are some inconsistencies, but oh well. Yes, the unnamed man gets a bit tiresome towards the end. Yes, there are lots of "what!?" plot devices. But it's not meant to be Pulitzer material, or even Hugo award. It's entertainment and it's quite a bit better than a lot of the movies I've seen recently.

The cast was fantastic. The story clipped along and drew me in. I listened on a cross country drive (along with about four other books), but it made the hours melt away.

If you're looking for something engaging and entertaining with a "gee, isn't that cool" factor, this might be the book for you. If you're going to incessantly compare it to everything else you've ever read and complain about basic plot inconsistencies, I guess listen to the other reviewers. I for one am happy to have spent a credit on this listen.
Read full review

- Charles

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-26-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audio