Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a literary thriller fueled by a quest for truth - and a fight for control of earthshaking power.
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved - its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand's code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of relic. What's clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history's most perplexing discovery - and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?
©2016 Sylvain Neuvel (P)2016 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"This stellar debut novel...masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction...." ( Kirkus Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Adam on 06-29-17

How is this on so many lists? Don't bother.

I started this really wanting to like it. I had just finished "We are Legion (We are Bob)", which I loved, and was hoping to continue on a train of fun scifi. Not all YA novels read like a YA novel - this one really did (... it *is* YA, isn't it?).

There's very little depth to the characters, crushes and relationships pop up in conversations in which they don't belong, and the dialogue puts so many context clues around every "SAT word", they might as well put those phrases into Mr. Smith's 4th period spelling test. A huge leap forward in exposition happens when a mysterious man shows up and just explains everything. I could go on.

This seems to be a popular book and I heard its movie rights have already been sold....? At best, this might be one of those few "See the movie, skip the book" situations.

Two stars because I actually finished it after almost stopping it three times (though, to be fair, I kept waiting for it to be as good as everyone says), and the ensemble cast does a great job with the material they have. The book is fine and all, and probably great for teens, but I won't be spending a credit on the sequel.

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Fluffy on 06-05-17

Pretty good.

Reminds me a bit of Crichton's work with the manner of injecting scientific explanations into the story. Also feels a bit like a novelization of xcom games and Gundam robot shows. Voice work is pretty good, though one voice was somewhat irksome.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews