Sleeping Giants : Themis Files

  • by Sylvain Neuvel
  • Narrated by full cast
  • Series: Themis Files
  • 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a literary thriller fueled by a quest for truth - and a fight for control of earthshaking power.
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved - its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand's code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of relic. What's clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history's most perplexing discovery - and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

More

What the Critics Say

"This stellar debut novel...masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction...." (Kirkus Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

BLUES BROTHERS

VAST NETWORKS OF INFORMATION NO ONE IS AWARE OF
I am giving this five stars, mostly for it's entertainment value. It is not the best I have listened to lately, but it kept my attention. It is a little hard to describe, as the mood of the book changed. It started out with a cool concept and seemed to take itself pretty serious. By the end it seemed a bit frivolous or maybe a satire on the subject, edging on Rocky and Bullwinkle I am not a fan of whole books done through interviews and the action being something remembered instead of live, but I still liked this and the core story. I also thought that there was great character development. I also liked the full cast and they certainly made the listening better than reading.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Excellent Audiobook, Unique writing style

Any additional comments?

Sleeping Giants was an amazing audiobook. The whole book is written as a case file, so it’s interviews and journal entries performed by a full cast audio (Audible version). It took about an hour for me to understand what exactly was happening in the story, but then I was hooked. Pieces of a giant metal robot have been found on Earth, and they’re suspected to be the remains of aliens on Earth thousands (or maybe millions) of years ago. The main players in the story are the lead scientist, a mathematician, and a couple of military pilots. And the un-named interviewer. It’s so interesting!

I don’t read a lot of science fiction, but this book was amazing. It was more focused on how humans would act in the face of the known existence of aliens instead of being a sci-fi alien story. I like to call this type of science fiction “near science fiction,” meaning that it could happen right now today. It’s not focused on a futuristic world or space travel. It’s similar to The Martian or Dark Matter where it takes present day society and then introduces a sci-fi element to it.

My favorite character in this book was Kara, one of the pilots. She’s spunky and disrespectful of authority. She does what she wants and she mouths off. The actress who played her was perfect. She reminded me of Julia Styles in all of her mid-90s movies (think 10 Things I Hate About You). I got a kick out of listening to her, and I was routing for her the whole way.

I read this book back in March right before the sequel was released, so it was perfect timing. I didn’t have to wait long to learn what happened next. Even still, there isn’t a huge cliffhanger at the end, so if you don’t get to the sequel right away, it’s not too terrible. Mostly, I just wanted more of the characters once I finished this book, and I was happy that I got that right away.

Blog: Opinionated Book Lover

Read full review

- Kate Unger

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-26-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audio