Slade House

  • by David Mitchell
  • Narrated by Thomas Judd, Tania Rodrigues
  • 6 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

By the New York Times best-selling author of The Bone Clocks and Cloud Atlas comes a Publishers Weekly literary fiction top 10 pick for Fall 2015.
Keep your eyes peeled for a small, black iron door.
Down the road from a working-class British pub, along the brick wall of a narrow alley, if the conditions are exactly right, you'll find the entrance to Slade House. A stranger will greet you by name and invite you inside. At first, you won't want to leave. Later, you'll find that you can't. Every nine years, the house's residents - an odd brother and sister - extend a unique invitation to someone who's different or lonely: a precocious teenager, a recently divorced policeman, a shy college student. But what really goes on inside Slade House? For those who find out, it's already too late....
Spanning five decades, from the last days of the 1970s to the present, leaping genres, and barreling toward an astonishing conclusion, this intricately woven novel will pull you into a reality-warping new vision of the haunted house story - as only David Mitchell could imagine it.

More

What the Critics Say

"Painstakingly imagined and crackling with narrative velocity, it's a Dracula for the new millennium, a 'Hansel and Gretel' for grownups." (Anthony Doerr, author of All the Light We Cannot See, winner of the Pulitzer Prize)
"Sharp, fast, flat-out spooky, Slade House is such a hypnotic read that you are likely to miss your subway stop in order to keep reading. And by you, I mean me." (Daniel Handler, New York Times best-selling author of the Lemony Snicket series)
"Fans of Mitchell's The Bone Clocks and Cloud Atlas will recognize the interlocking narrative structure and literary-fantastical bent of this new work." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gotta love David Mitchell

I'm no fan of ghost stories or paranormal stuff, and the book freaked me out enough that I couldn't drive on the freeway while listening to it. If this sounds like a two-star review, well, it would be, but this is David Mitchell, people! He's just a fabulous writer, best I've encountered in the last ten years or more. I'm eagerly awaiting the end of his paranormal phase--hoping there will be one.
Read full review

- S. Weaver

My Favorite David Mitchell


I found "Slade House" just in time for Halloween.

This novel is my favorite of Mitchell's so far. This book is all horror, and it moves quickly, more concisely, and with a less complicated plot than his previous more lengthy novels. But his signature oddities and originality are in full force and enhanced by the narrators.

Don't expect happy endings or zombies from the apocalypse, but you can expect to step into a haunted house like no other.
Read full review

- Jan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-27-2015
  • Publisher: Random House Audio