Six Walks in the Fictional Woods

  • by Umberto Eco
  • Narrated by Nick Sullivan
  • 5 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this exhilarating book, we accompany Umberto Eco as he explores the intricacies of fictional form and method. Using examples ranging from fairy tales and Flaubert, Poe and Mickey Spillane, Eco draws us in by means of a novelist's techniques, making us his collaborators in the creation of his text and in the investigation of some of fiction's most basic mechanisms. These six lectures in Harvard's prestigious "Charles Eliot Norton Lectures" invite readers to reexamine how they read and how much is expected of them. Eco argues that any actual reader is an empirical reader with a specific personal reading context. As such, each individual reader is only part of the model reader, the author's composite imagined listener. But the individual author, always distinct from the narrator is also only part of the model author whose stylistic strategies help all readers infer what the characteristics of the model reader are and, in turn, what those of the model author are. The book is published by Harvard University Press.


What the Critics Say

"Erudite, wide-ranging, and slyly humorous... The literary examples Eco employs range from Dante to Dumas, from Sterne to Spillane. His text is thought-provoking, often outright funny, and full of surprising juxtapositions." (The Atlantic)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

big ideas presented simply

I bought this title because I wanted to increase my amateur writing skill and overall understanding of story writing. Generally having a negative impression of academic writing after graduating university, I was relieved to find real ideas with situations that supported them but did not burden the overall flow of things. It took me a while, but I realized the author wants the reader to listen more than once as many of his topics relate to this very concept. So listen twice.
Read full review

- Ashton

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-13-2011
  • Publisher: University Press Audiobooks