Since We Fell

  • by Dennis Lehane
  • Narrated by Julia Whelan
  • 12 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Since We Fell follows Rachel Childs, a former journalist who, after an on-air mental breakdown, now lives as a virtual shut-in. In all other respects, however, she enjoys an ideal life with an ideal husband. Until a chance encounter on a rainy afternoon causes that ideal life to fray. As does Rachel's marriage. As does Rachel herself. Sucked into a conspiracy thick with deception, violence, and possibly madness, Rachel must find the strength within herself to conquer unimaginable fears and mind-altering truths.
By turns heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic, and sophisticated, Since We Fell is a novel of profound psychological insight and tension. It is Dennis Lehane at his very best.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Compelling but far fetched

This was a compulsive listen, and I don't regret spending a credit on it. But so many elements of the story turn out to be dead ends, and ultimately the story is very far fetched.
Read full review

- Na

Wait ....

The first half of Dennis Lehane's latest novel, Since We Fell, is a meandering but engaging tale of a young female journalist, her relationships, and her callous, overbearing mother. Unfortunately, the second half of the audiobook disintegrates into an unoriginal romance story (a veiled and failed take-off of the sarcastic but in-love Charlie and Rose in the African Queen) between the journalist and her husband who is not who he seems (and his real self is unimpressive). The two characters are often implausible and always one-dimensional, never allowing the reader to become emotionally invested in in either the couple or the story. The hit men and police are embarrassingly clich├ęd, quite surprising given Lehane's superior writing talent. The ending was a miserable failure. The narrator, Julia Whelan, does a credible job. Wait until the audiobook goes on sale if you must get this book.
Read full review

- Ann

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-09-2017
  • Publisher: HarperAudio