Short Stories: The Thinking Man's Collection

  • by Wilkie Collins, Edgar Wallace, Charles Dickens, John Buchan, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Mark Twain, Jerome K Jerome
  • Narrated by Rupert Degas, Martin Jarvis, Jonathan Firth, Iain Cuthbertson, Kerry Shale, Richard Griffiths, Stephen Fry
  • 4 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This carefully compiled collection is the perfect gift for Father’s Day or a special birthday and a rich listening experience for both women and men all year round. This truly eclectic collection of unabridged short stories from the audiobook specialist CSA Word encompasses stories by and about intriguing, inspirational, charismatic and even unusual and extraordinary men.

Mr Cosway and the Landlady by Wilkie Collins reader Rupert Degas;
A School Story by Edgar Wallace reader Martin Jarvis;
The Poor Relation's Story by Charles Dickens reader Martin Jarvis;
White Stockings by Edgar Wallace reader Jonathan Firth;
The Music on the Hill by Saki reader Martin Jarvis;
A Point of Detail by Sapper reader Jonathan Firth;
On Cademuir Hill by John Buchan reader Iain Cuthbertson;
Pat Hobby's Secret by F. Scott Fitzgerald reader Kerry Shale;
My Cat Jeoffrey by Christopher Smart readers Richard Griffiths & Liza Goddard;
The Fable of the Man with the Golden Brain by Alphone Daudet reader Stephen Fry;
Luck by Mark Twain reader Jonathan Firth;
The Clock That Went Backward by E P Mitchell reader Nicky Henson;
The Dancing Partner by Jerome K Jerome reader Jonathan Firth;
A Day In The Country by Anton Chekhov reader Martin Jarvis.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I really enjoyed the stories in the first part of the collection. The stories in the last part are more science fiction. Still interesting, but not what I would consider mysteries. The narration is good throughout, unlike with many collections.
Read full review

- Linda

Not all there

While the description helpfully itemizes the contents and associated readers, it is misleading in that neither The Poor Relation nor The Music on the Hill were found in the files I downloaded.
Read full review

- tom

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-13-2010
  • Publisher: CSA Word