Shock Wave : Virgil Flowers

  • by John Sandford
  • Narrated by Eric Conger
  • Series: Virgil Flowers
  • 9 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling new Virgil Flowers novel from the #1 New York Times best-selling author.
The superstore chain PyeMart has its sights set on a Minnesota river town, but two very angry groups want to stop it: local merchants, fearing for their businesses, and environmentalists, predicting ecological disaster. The protests don't seem to be slowing the project, though, until someone decides to take matters into his own hands.
The first bomb goes off on the top floor of PyeMart's headquarters. The second one explodes at the construction site itself. The blasts are meant to inflict maximum damage-and they do. Who's behind the bombs, and how far will they go? It's Virgil Flowers's job to find out... before more people get killed.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Where is the real Virgil?

I was probably the first or second person to download this book as I loved the previous books so much and was anxious for the next chapter. Virgil is one of my favorite series stars alongside Burke's Dave and Hackberry. However, I found this latest Virgil adventure to be quite bland and predictable. The characters were shallow and uninteresting. The fun and funny and sexy Virgil from previous installments seems to be tamed down. Also, for some reason, the name Pyemart was distracting because you knew he was using it in a Walmart sense. There just was no juice to the story. To be truthful, I kept dozing off. If I were you, I'd wait til it shows up on a $4.95 sale. The Virgil we know and love come back!!!
Read full review

- Deborah "Lover of good cops and robbers books, Anne Tyler, Robert Parker, Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke."

Not the best Virgil ~ but it is still Virgil!

I am bias! John Sandford is my favorite author and he hit it out of the park in May with his latest Lucas Davenport, Buried Prey. I will forgive him this Virgil Flowers. I still enjoyed every minute of this book, but it wasn't as good as the others in the series. He is such a talented writer and so detailed, it was still a great story!
Read full review

- aaron

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-04-2011
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio