Setting Free the Kites

  • by Alex George
  • Narrated by Ari Fliakos
  • 8 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the "lyrical and compelling" (USA Today) novel A Good American comes a powerful story of two friends and the unintended consequences of friendship, loss, and hope.
For Robert Carter, life in his coastal Maine hometown is comfortably predictable. But in 1976, on his first day of eighth grade, he meets Nathan Tilly, who changes everything. Nathan is confident, fearless, impetuous - and fascinated by kites and flying. Robert and Nathan's budding friendship is forged in the crucible of two family tragedies, and as the boys struggle to come to terms with loss, they take summer jobs at the local rundown amusement park. It's there that Nathan's boundless capacity for optimism threatens to overwhelm them both, and where they learn some harsh truths about family, desire, and revenge.
Unforgettable and heartbreaking, Setting Free the Kites is a poignant and moving exploration of the pain, joy, and glories of young friendship.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great book, great narration

First of all, Ari Fliakos deserves major kudos for the narration of this lovely coming-of-age story. He creates distinct characters with his voice, and in a character-focused book like this, it makes all the difference. The story itself is also wonderful, lovely prose, excellent characterization. I loved this story of friendship, loss, and life in small-town Maine.
Read full review

- Ruth Bain

A Poignant Tale of Friendship, Masterfully Told

Alex George captures the angst and uncertainty of teenage friendships against the backdrop of family tragedies, using lyrical prose as memorable as his characters. Ari Fliakos demonstrates, as he did in THE WHITES, that he is a narrator of the first order. His characters are distinct and believable, his narration passionate, and his pace affecting. I strongly recommend this book.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-21-2017
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio