Selected Shorts

  • by N.M. Kelby, Max Steele, Nadine Gordimer, Joan Didion, Jason Brown, Ring Lardner
  • Narrated by Mia Dillon, Paul Hecht, Christina Pickles, Myra Lucretia Taylor, Bradley Whitford, Joanne Woodward, Nadine Gordimer
  • 3 hrs and 12 mins
  • Performance

Publisher's Summary

Selected Shorts: Travel Tales presents a collection of travel experiences, including:
N.M. Kelby's "Jubilation, Florida", read by Joanne Woodward

Max Steele's "The Hat of My Mother", read by Paul Hecht

Nadine Gordimer's "The Ultimate Safari", read by Myra Lucretia Taylor

Joan Didion's "Goodbye to All That", read by Mia Dillon

Jason Brown's "Afternoon of the Sassanoa", read by Bradley Whitford

Ring Lardner's "Liberty Hall", read by Christina Pickles
Selected Shorts is an award-winning series of classic and contemporary short fiction read by acclaimed actors. The series originates at Peter Norton Symphony Space in New York City. The Selected Shorts radio series is a co-production of Symphony Space and WNYC, New York Public Radio, and is heard on public radio stations nationwide.


What the Critics Say

"Seasoned performers spurred to do their best by the combination of good writing and live audiences are irresistible....The humorous pieces are particularly enjoyable because of the palpable synergy between narrator and laughing audience. But all are enjoyable and satisfying." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

loved every minute

What a great way to get back to the visual eye. ..imagination I love every minute
Read full review

- Shannel Reed

not so much about travel

These stories were not the light hearted or adventurous tales I was looking for but rather situations of the human experience which involved not being in ones home. Sad, heartbreaking, horrific, and at times slightly touching on the adventure and wonder of travel. If you are looking for stories to inspire your next adventure of travelers spirit, these stories are not for you.
Read full review

- jess

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-20-2007
  • Publisher: Symphony Space, Inc.