Regular price: $9.07

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $9.07

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Thirteen lives. One garden. Set in Cleveland, Newbery-Award-winning author Paul Fleischman's poignant book is a large lesson in connectedness and community for all. When a derelict vacant lot is gradually transformed into a community garden in inner city Cleveland, the people of this community find their differences are less apparent and their isolation dissolved. Performed by thirteen multicuturally and age-authentic voices, this audiobook is designed for listeners of all ages.
©1997 Paul Fleischman (P)2003 Audio Bookshelf
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Fleischman's talent for writing stories from various points of view makes his works particularly appealing in audiobook form. Here, 13 different characters come alive via the distinct performances of a widely varied cast. The range of voices and styles suggests a true community." (Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Rina on 10-12-09

Excellent to listen

THis audio book was even beter than the book. My students were able to listen to the different accents and understand the characters better. I LOVED it

Read More Hide me

22 of 23 people found this review helpful

By Chris on 12-19-11

What a wonderful little book!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes and no, This book is technically for the children's market. Even though a 4th grader could probably read the content just fine, I don't think the content is appropriate until after 7th grade.
I actually think adults will love it more than kids.

What other book might you compare Seedfolks to and why?

I've never read anything else like it before.

Who was the most memorable character of Seedfolks and why?

So many of the characters are incredibly powerful, but I love Leona.

Any additional comments?

I actually use this book as part of my curriculum for adults who are in a literacy class. They love the story! I love the story! It is such a simple tale, but it is so rich and full of all kinds of insight into society, immigration, history, and the human condition

Read More Hide me

20 of 21 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Amazon Customer on 06-22-16

The best audible book I've ever heard!!

This book is just amazing and is flawless!😃 I'd recommend this book to anyone over the age of about 7yrs old for content reasons.☺️ I'm just speechless!😶

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc