Secrets of Nanreath Hall

  • by Alix Rickloff
  • Narrated by Lauren Irwin, Laura Waddell
  • 12 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This incredible debut historical novel - in the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson - tells the fascinating story of a young mother who flees her home on the rocky cliffs of Cornwall and the daughter who finds her way back, seeking answers.
Cornwall, 1940. Back in England after the harrowing evacuation at Dunkirk, WWII Red Cross nurse Anna Trenowyth is shocked to learn her adoptive parents, Graham and Prue Handley, have been killed in an air raid. She desperately needs their advice, as she's been assigned to the military hospital that has set up camp inside her biological mother's childhood home - Nanreath Hall.
Anna was just six years old when her mother, Lady Katherine Trenowyth, died. All she has left are vague memories that tease her with clues she can't unravel. Anna's assignment to Nanreath Hall could be the chance for her to finally become acquainted with the family she's never known - and to unbury the truth and secrets surrounding her past.
Cornwall, 1913. In the luxury of pre-WWI England, Lady Katherine Trenowyth is expected to do nothing more than make a smart marriage and have a respectable life. When Simon Halliday, a bohemian painter, enters her world, Katherine begins to question the future that was so carefully laid out for her. Her choices begin to lead her away from the stability of her home and family toward a wild existence of life, art, and love. But as everything begins to fall apart, Katherine finds herself destitute and alone.
As Anna is drawn into her newfound family's lives and their tangled loyalties, she discovers herself at the center of old heartbreaks and unbearable tragedies, leaving her to decide if the secrets of the past are too dangerous to unearth...and if the family she's discovered is one she can keep.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well done both narrators and Author !

Extremely pleasant surprise from this audio novel. Excellent story with well described scenes puts the listener in the middle of the war fallout while ascending to the "Secrets". Voices were well done and easily dicernable between characters. Writing was top notch leaving one wanting for more. Highly recommend.
Read full review

- Andover Meadow

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-02-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio