Safe Haven

  • by Nicholas Sparks
  • Narrated by Rebecca Lowman
  • 11 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family.
But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her... a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo's empathic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards... and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Safe Haven

Well I am hooked! This was my first purchase, I thought what the heck it didn't cost anything I will give it a try. What a great first book to try. I found myself volunteering to go to the store just to listen to the rest of it. The reader was wonderful!
Read full review

- Tina

This Was My First Nicolas Sparks Novel

I am not much into sappy love stories and this is what I expected when I decided to buy Safe Haven. I thought something easy on the ears would be a good choice to do housework by. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The characters had depth and substance and it wasn't pages and pages of verbal and physical love making. The twist at the end was enough to make me consider trying another Sparks novel. Recommended for the love story lovers as well as someone just interested in a good listen sans much sap.
Read full review

- C. Byrnes

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-14-2010
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio