Sackett's Land : The Sacketts

  • by Louis L'Amour
  • Narrated by John Curless
  • Series: The Sacketts
  • 5 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Son of a feared fighting man, Barnabas Sackett inherited his father's fiery temper, sense of justice and warrior skills. Declared an outlaw in his native England, Barnabas set his daring sights on the opportunity of the New World. The ruthless piracy of the open seas and the unknown dangers of the savage American wilderness lay before him. And so did the thrill of discovery and the chance to establish a bold new future if he survived.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Mr. Lucky

This dirt poor farmer is walking in the woods, when he discovers some gold coins half buried on his land. Later he gets into a sword fight with a noble and he kicks the noble's butt, a hanging offense. Within five minutes he is best friends with a man he has never meet, but helps him escape the noble. Sackett who until now has lived by himself in a swamp is a natural born leader and men flock to him. He is bigger, faster and smarter then his fellow countrymen and even native American Indians. He is superman and luckyman. When he escapes pirates who are suppose to kill him, but don't, to America, the ship he is looking for with his soon to be girlfriend arrives at the American Coast at the exact spot where he is (twice). The amount of things that just fall into this guys lap happen so often it becomes comical.

If you listen to this, make sure and turn off your brain.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Great Start

I heard this audio book a few years ago and decided to buy it to listen again. This is the kick of story for the Saketts series. I listen to these books driving truck and this book is a real mile burner, and one you hate to hear end. However the next in the series (To The Far Blue Mountains) picks up where this book ends. The whole series doesn't do that, but the first few do because it's about a journey from England to America and across America over several generations. Most of the later books are stories of Saketts all over the country in the "Wild West" days of America. So if you're interested in a book that will at least keep you going through the first five books in the series, then this is a powerful start.
Read full review

- Tundrabeast

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-16-1999
  • Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell Audio