Regular price: $7.66

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $7.66

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A short story for fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve. Step into the fragile domestic world of Roar and discover the unforgettable voice of Nicole Trope, best-selling author of The Secrets in Silence, Three Hours Late and The Boy Under the Table.
The baby sleeps peacefully, filled with milk and contentment. The man on the bed breathes his way into the darkness, filled with rage. Was there ever really a choice?
From the queen of searing family drama and suspense comes a short story about the fierce bonds between mother and child, the things we sacrifice to protect the ones we love and the desperate choices we make when there's nowhere left to run.
©2014 Nicole Trope (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 02-21-18

Annoying Ending

This book does not deliver on the suspense it builds up. The narrator’s “roar” at the end was very annoying. Not satisfied with the ending; there could have been more to this short story.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By SkinnyTurtle on 07-31-17

Hard to follow, but very captivating.

I loved being invited into this poor abused woman's world. I found the story a bit hard to follow, but listening to it twice was a treat.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Emily on 06-14-18

Interesting

This was a really interesting short story concerning domestic abuse and breaking points. There’s not much I can say without spoilering it, but it was incredible.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Anna Spencer on 10-16-16

A turbulent marriage

I really like the realism of this story, to which many mothers would identify.

It is suspenseful and beautifully narrated by Susan Stratford.

This tale would appeal to anyone, especially those facing marriage difficulties, but few would take the drastic step of this young mother.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Lisa on 09-17-16

Really loved this book

Loved this story!
Didn't enjoy the narration so much.
But found the story gripping.. Recommend to new mums

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews