Regular price: $25.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Winner, Paranormal, 2014
Jonah Miller is a Reviver, able to temporarily revive the dead so they can say goodbye to their loved ones - or tell the police who killed them. Jonah works in a department of forensics created specifically for Revivers, and he’s the best in the business. For every high-profile corpse pushing daisies, it’s Jonah’s job to find justice for them. But while reviving the victim of a brutal murder, he encounters a terrifying presence. Something is on the other side watching. Waiting. His superiors tell him it's only in his mind, a product of stress.
Jonah isn't so certain. Then Daniel Harker, the first journalist to bring revival to public attention, is murdered. Jonah finds himself getting dragged into the hunt for answers. Working with Harker's daughter Annabel, he becomes determined to find those responsible and bring them to justice. Soon they uncover long-hidden truths that call into doubt everything Jonah stands for, and reveal a sinister force that threatens us all. Putting the paranormal in the police department, first-time author Seth Patrick blends genre lines with this edgy crime thriller. The first novel in the Reviver trilogy, Reviver is sure to appeal to fans of Dean Koontz and Justin Cronin.
©2013 Seth Patrick (P)2013 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jennifer Beadle on 03-09-14

Horror meets scifi and becomes mainstream.

What made the experience of listening to Reviver the most enjoyable?

The subject matter was very intriguing - reaching out to those beyond the grave and actually making contact.

What did you like best about this story?

This was a very original approach to a story that concerns itself with communicating with the dead and solving mysteries. There are to some extent stories within stories.

Which character – as performed by Ari Fliakos – was your favorite?

I liked the main character, Jonah. He was the main reviver in the novel. Revivers, of course, temporarily revive the dead to either give family members a chance to say good-bye or for police to learn who killed them.

If you could take any character from Reviver out to dinner, who would it be and why?

I want to query Jonah. What does it feel like to be a reviver? Can you teach me to do it? ETC. . .

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the book, but I think I would have liked it more if they had kept more to the theme of crime solving and families. The whole storyline of torturing the dead went a bit far afield for me. That should have been book number 2 and more developed. Otherwise, I liked it and would read more on this theme.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful


By Dr Dionne P Joseph on 02-04-14

Original premise, exciting story

I enjoyed this story. An original idea. Very interesting. I will certainly be on the lookout for the other books in the series.

The narration was generally good and the characters well read. But, the appalling, terrible attempt at a Northern Irish accent just kept pulling me out. What was that? More like Scottish, West Country, with a bit of god know what else thrown in. If narrators can't do accents properly, then don't narrate a story! Get someone else to do it. Given that the character Never played an important part in the book, this was a constant distraction. I nearly gave up because of this.

However, I'm glad I didn't after all, because the ending certainly leaves you wanting more.

Read More Hide me

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews