Regular price: $29.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Popsugar most anticipated book of fall
A Ploughshares most anticipated book of fall
One of Publishers Weekly's most anticipated titles of fall 2017
Five women. One question. What is a woman for?
In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.
Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender", who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.
Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid's Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous - even frightening - times.
©2018 Leni Zumas (P)2018 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By eclectic reader on 04-30-18

Women’s rights

Terrific book & story about women whose rights to their own bodies are taken away. The characters and situations are very real and could happen here. I give the story 5 stars. I recommend this book.

I listened to part of the audible version but found some of the characters confusing. Each main character has a role label (Mother, Biographer, Mender, Daughter) and a proper name (e.g Susan, Ro, Gin, Mattie). So about 25% into the audible, I checked out the book. It was easier to follow the plot lines with the book version. I gave the performance 4 stars.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Sam on 04-27-18

Horrifyingly Real and yet Utterly Foreign

With Donald Trump as our President it seems like anything awful is possible. This book takes the next hypothetical step in the Right’s attack on everyone but cis straight white rich men and portrays a world where hours old embryos have more rights than many felons. It’s a much needed exploration of the highly gendered assumptions both women and men make about their respective gender roles in society. The world of Red Clocks is both completely alien (no legal abortion, a Pink Wall between the US and Canada, IVF outlawed, adoption only open to married couples) and yet is utterly familiar (life goes on, people adapt, there is still kind and empathetic individuals, etc.) Leni Zumas did an excellent job in constructing her story. Would HIGHLY recommend!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews