Reader, I Married Him

  • by Tracy Chevalier
  • Narrated by Tracy Chevalier - introduction, Laura Kirman
  • 7 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This collection of original stories by today's finest woman writers takes inspiration from the famous line in Charlotte Brontë's most beloved novel, Jane Eyre.
A fixture in the literary canon, Charlotte Brontë is revered by listeners all over the world. Her books featuring unforgettable, strong heroines still resonate with millions today. And who could forget one of literature's best-known lines - "Reader, I married him" - from her classic novel Jane Eyre?
Part of a remarkable family that produced three acclaimed female writers at a time in 19th-century Britain when few women wrote and fewer were published, Brontë has been a great source of inspiration to writers, especially women, ever since. Now, in Reader, I Married Him, 20 of today's most celebrated woman authors have spun original stories using Jane Eyre as a springboard.
Reader, I Married Him features stories by:
Tracy Chevalier, Tessa Hadley, Helen Dunmore, Kirsty Gunn, Joanna Briscoe, Jane Gardam, Emma Donoghue, Susan Hill, Francine Prose, Elif Shafak, Evie Wyld, Patricia Park, Salley Vickers, Nadifa Mohamed, Esther Freud, Linda Grant, Sarah Hall, Lionel Shriver, Audrey Niffenegger, Namwali Serpell, and Elizabeth McCracken.
Unique, inventive, and poignant, the stories in Reader, I Married Him pay homage to the literary genius of Charlotte Brontë and demonstrate once again that her extraordinary vision continues to inspire listeners and writers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Beautiful and sad and everything

So much of this is heartbreakingly beautiful and sad, but so much is also revelatory in how love is felt and observed in all it's different forms.

Most of the stories are more modern, so I wouldn't start this hoping to keep up your high immediately after finishing Jane Eyre.
Read full review

- Adrianna Prejna

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-24-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio