Rasputin's Daughter

  • by Robert Alexander
  • Narrated by Josephine Bailey
  • 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With the same riveting historical narrative that made The Kitchen Boy a national best seller and a book club favorite, Robert Alexander returns to revolutionary Russia for the harrowing tale of Rasputin's final days as told by his youthful and bold daughter, Maria. Interrogated by the Provisional Government on the details of her father's death, Maria vividly recounts a politically tumultuous Russia, where Rasputin's powerful influence over the throne are unsettling to all levels of society, and the threats to his life are no secret. With vast conspiracies mounting against her father, Maria must struggle with the discovery of Rasputin's true nature, his unbridled carnal appetites, mysterious relationship with the Empress, rumors of involvement in secret religious cults, to save her father from his murderers. Swept away in a plot much larger than the death of one man, Maria finds herself on the cusp of the Russian Revolution itself. With Rasputin's Daughter, Robert Alexander once again delivers an imaginative and compelling story, fashioned from one of history's most fascinating periods that, until now, has been virtually unexplored in fiction.


What the Critics Say

"The combination of Alexander's research and his rich characterizations produces an engaging historical fiction that offers a Rasputin who is neither beast nor saint, but merely, compellingly human." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A different view

The story of Rasputin, told from the viewpoint of his daughter, comes alive in a new way in this novel. The story appears to be well-researched and historically on target...with a few novelistic twists. It is effectively narrated, and overall, a great listen.
Read full review

- John

good not great

it was a great listen but rather predictable. The enchanting flow made it hard to put down.
Read full review

- Eileen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-13-2006
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio