Prayers for Sale

  • by Sandra Dallas
  • Narrated by Maggi-Meg Reed
  • 9 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hennie Comfort is 86 and has lived in the mountains of Middle Swan, Colorado since before it was Colorado. Nit Spindle is just 17 and newly married. She and her husband have just moved to the high country in search of work. It's 1936 and the depression has ravaged the country and Nit and her husband have suffered greatly. Hennie notices the young woman loitering near the old sign outside of her house that promises "Prayers For Sale". Hennie doesn't sell prayers, never has, but there's something about the young woman that she's drawn to. The harsh conditions of life that each have endured create an instant bond and an unlikely friendship is formed, one in which the deepest of hardships are shared and the darkest of secrets are confessed. Sandra Dallas has created an unforgettable tale of a friendship between two women, one with surprising twists and turns, and one that is ultimately a revelation of the finest parts of the human spirit.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great book

What a wonderful book! Dallas is such a talented storyteller. Using an economy of words, she picks out the just right details and makes them vivid. The characters and the story itself are much like the quilts- you see beautiful pieces at a time until she lets you stand back and see the greater design. I've enjoyed this book more than any other in a long time.
The narrator is spot on too
Read full review

- Kathy


The story, setting, people, narator...all perfect. I've only written two other reviews in two years. This book deserves more than 5 stars. Well developed characters and a writing style that links many individual stories together. I wished it wouldn't end. I can't wait for more just like this. If anyone has suggestions, I would love to read your reviews! The Help is quite good and reminds me of this wonderful adventure. Have a great time!
Read full review

- Barbara

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-14-2009
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio