Regular price: $14.91

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.91

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
Praetorian is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
AD 51. Legionaries Cato and Macro have forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture. Yet nothing has prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest battlefield of all: the bloody streets of Rome.
Traitors are threatening to plunge the Empire into bloody chaos and no one can be trusted. The Emperor has ordered Cato and Macro to go on a deadly mission, working undercover to root out the traitors before Rome tears itself apart.
As the true scale of the corruption dawns, they realise they are facing terrifying odds. Two men against many, in a desperate race to save not only the Empire, but each other....
©2011 Simon Scarrow (P)2011 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"I don't need this kind of competition." (Bernard Cornwell)
"A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read." (Mail on Sunday)
"A new book in Simon Scarrow's series about the Roman army is always a joy." (The Times)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Judith A. Weller on 05-08-12

The best Macro and Cato to date

I have read all of the books and listened to unabridged audio of the series.

This is without doubt one of the most thrilling Macro and Cato stories in the series. It is the only volume set completely in Rome - the others are set in various countries where the two are sent and are more concerned with Roman Legion in which they serve.

In this book we are dealing with a conspriacy to murder the Emperior Claudius in 51AD. Macro and Cato go undercover as members of Praetorian Guards to ferret out the conspiracy against the Emperor. As usual they are working for Narcissus, the Emperor's Secretary. Some of the great historical names of the period are involved in the story such as Agrippina, Tigellinus, the future Emperor Nero etc.

As always the story moves along at a fast pace and it is hard to stop listening to it, as it is so excitement.

Simon Scarrow brings the period to life as he does in all the books of the series. It is unfortunate that Audible only has some of the earlier books in abridged format.

This is a great series and a great you won't be sorry you listened to it.

Read More Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful


By beau on 06-28-12

An ancient who done it.

This was my first venture into audiobook fiction.
If you like Roman history, and you were a fan of HBO's 'Rome', You'll be glued to this one.
Im going to seek his other stuff out, post haste.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Andrew Sutton on 04-20-15

The narrator's not in keeping with the books

The narrator makes the characters sound pretty wimpy, especially when Cato and Macro are shouting commands or showing frustration. Jonathan Keeble was much better

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By Amazon Customer on 04-14-15

Good Story awful performance.

Would you try another book written by Simon Scarrow or narrated by Gareth Armstrong?

Yes. the series is very good, with a good amount of intrigue and action.

What other book might you compare Praetorian to, and why?

Very similiar to the more political Sharpe Books

What didn’t you like about Gareth Armstrong’s performance?

Half of the characters sounds like old and feeble men despite contrary descriptions in the story itself. The voice action is more like a reading of a childrens story rather than an adult book. Difficult to identify some of the comments between the main characters. The actor obviously had a lot of saliva in his mouth during various parts of the performance as you can hear it in the recording.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Praetorian?

happy with the story.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By William on 04-30-17

Another outstanding book.

Once again a great book in the Eagle Series. I am absolutely hooked to these books.

Read More Hide me

By Ky on 08-31-15

Another great read!

Simon Scarrow hasn't disappointed with Praetorian, it is so well written and I am just mad about Gareth Armstrong's narration. He does the change up of voices so well.
Thoroughly recommended.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc