Praetorian : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by Gareth Armstrong
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 12 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The brand new thrilling Roman adventure from the bestselling author of THE LEGION and THE GLADIATOR. The city of Rome in AD 50 is a dangerous place. Treachery lurks on every corner, and a shadowy Republican movement, 'the Liberators', has spread its tentacles wide. It is feared that the heart of the latest plot lies in the ranks of the Praetorian Guard. Uncertain of whom he can trust, the Imperial Secretary Narcissus summons to Rome two courageous men guaranteed to be loyal to the grave: army veterans Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro.Tasked with infiltrating the Guard, Cato and Macro face a daunting test to win the trust of their fellow soldiers.
No sooner have they begun to unearth the details of the Liberators' devious plan than disaster strikes: an old enemy who could identify them, with deadly consequences, makes an unexpected appearance. Now they face a race against time to save their own lives before they can unmask the mastermind behind the Liberators...


What the Critics Say

"I don't need this kind of competition." (Bernard Cornwell)
"A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read." (Mail on Sunday)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An ancient who done it.

This was my first venture into audiobook fiction.
If you like Roman history, and you were a fan of HBO's 'Rome', You'll be glued to this one.
Im going to seek his other stuff out, post haste.
Read full review

- beau

The best Macro and Cato to date

I have read all of the books and listened to unabridged audio of the series.

This is without doubt one of the most thrilling Macro and Cato stories in the series. It is the only volume set completely in Rome - the others are set in various countries where the two are sent and are more concerned with Roman Legion in which they serve.

In this book we are dealing with a conspriacy to murder the Emperior Claudius in 51AD. Macro and Cato go undercover as members of Praetorian Guards to ferret out the conspiracy against the Emperor. As usual they are working for Narcissus, the Emperor's Secretary. Some of the great historical names of the period are involved in the story such as Agrippina, Tigellinus, the future Emperor Nero etc.

As always the story moves along at a fast pace and it is hard to stop listening to it, as it is so excitement.

Simon Scarrow brings the period to life as he does in all the books of the series. It is unfortunate that Audible only has some of the earlier books in abridged format.

This is a great series and a great you won't be sorry you listened to it.

Read full review

- Judith A. Weller

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-01-2011
  • Publisher: Headline Digital