Regular price: $33.36

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $33.36

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Lymond is travelling a desperate path across the Ottoman Empire of Sulemain the Magnificent in search of a kidnapped child, a search that may place him in the grip of his enemies. In the subtle and savage game of treachery, enslavement and torture, Lymond is compelled to make an unthinkable choice - and face the darkest ambiguities of his own nature.
©1969 Dorothy Dunnett (P)2001 W F Howes
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Grace on 12-11-13

Lymond's back but where's The Game of Kings Book 1

Would you listen to Pawn in Frankincense again? Why?

Having anxiously waited for what seems to be forever, finally The Lymond Chronicles!

Audible, please make the The Game of Kings (Book 1) available as quickly as possible! These books should be savored in the order they were written and as I have read them in the "old-fashioned" way atleast once a year since they were originally released in print.

It is so wonderful to have the books currently available read by such an accomplished narrator. Beautiful inflexion; realistic and measured pace just as I would have imagined Ms. Dunnett to have meant.

So very pleased!! I will keep these books in "My Library" for always!

Read More Hide me

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

By Julie Canniff on 07-19-17

Uneven narration

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Dorothy Dunnett's historical novels are peerless and I have waited a long time to listen to them. I was, therefore, astounded that the narrator did not pronounce Lymond's name correctly for the two books previous to this one. While he now pronounces Lymond correctly, he is inconsistent in the beginning. He also has a strange way of interpreting the accents for all of the characters except the Scots and the Irish. This is particularly disconcerting when listening to his interpretation of Philippa's character. Nonetheless, I recommend this audiobook, and will continue to listen to it for years to come.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Amazon Customer on 11-15-13

Enjoyment ruined by narration

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

I am currently listening to this audio book and can't decide whether to return it or not.

It's not a problem with the story. The story is fantastic. I've read the books a dozen times and they are among my very favourites.

Unfortunately this audio book is ruined by the narrator mispronouncing the main character's name. What makes it worse and inexplicable is I have just listened to 2 other books from the Lymond series (QP and TDK), read by the same narrator, where he pronounces mc's name correctly. As the name Lymond is used all the time, sometimes seconds, apart the mispronunciation is a repetitive and annoying disruption to a very powerful and emotional story. I don't understand how a series of books has been released with this sort of error.

Read More Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc