Occasional Demons

  • by Rick Hautala
  • Narrated by Jack Chekijian
  • 12 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This collection, from an acclaimed master of dark fiction, consists of 21 tales. Some are straight genre entries, others are stories of psychological terror, and a few are shorts that include science-fiction elements. The first 18 are short stories written solely by Rick Hautala; the final three are collaborations with Jesse and Matti Hautala, Matthew J. Costello, and Jim Connolly.
The stories include:

"The Nephews"
"Nightmare Transcript"
"Dead Legends"
"I've Been Thinking About You"
"The Man Who Looked Like Murphy"
"Toxic Shock"
"The Call"
"Getting the Job Done"
"Every Mother's Son"
"Hotel Hell"
"The Compost Heap"
"Iron Frog"
"The Gates of Dawn"
"Off the Cuff"
"The Screaming Head"
"Abduction" (written with Jesse and Matti Hautala)
"And the Sea Shall Claim Them" (written with Matthew J. Costello and A. J. Matthews)
"Scared Crows" (written with Jim Connolly)


What the Critics Say

"Rick Hautala’s writing shines with dedication, hard-earned craft, and devotion." (Peter Straub)
"He brings his own brand of ice and fire and blood to his work and he never forgets to entertain the reader." (Joe R. Lansdale)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A collection of horrors...

I received this audio book as a gift in exchange for a honest and unbiased review. While horror isn't my genre of choice, this audio book is pretty good. This is a collection of many different horror stories all compiled into one book. I really believe the narration made this book much better. I thought the special effects added in and the multiple voices and echoes were fantastic!

The author, Rick Hautala did a fine job writing this book. I believe the narration makes this book, but a narrator can only read what is written, therefore the author did a fantastic job too. There are multiple plots since there are multiple stories in this book. Lots of twists and turns and even some gore. The narrator, Jack Chekijian did a bang up job (fantastic) on the voices, sound effects, accents and so on. This man is a master of voices! The narration makes it feel like real action and you are there watching it.
Read full review

- Terri


Any additional comments?

This is a great collection of horror stories. It is more than enough to scare me to death.

A copy of the audiobook is a git from the narrator for my honest review.

Read full review

- med c

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-24-2013
  • Publisher: Crossroad Press