• by David Mitchell
  • Narrated by William Rycroft
  • 16 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As Eiji Miyake's 20th birthday nears, he sets out for the seething metropolis of Tokyo to find the father he has never met. There, he begins a thrilling journey where dreams, memories and reality collide as Eiji is caught up in a feverish succession of encounters by turn bizarre, hilarious, and shockingly dangerous. But until Eiji has fallen in love and exorcised his childhood demons, the belonging he craves will remain just beyond his grasp.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Nice, pleasant and in some parts grave

As it is the first-fly review of this audiobook I will try to be consistent and precise.
First: the story. Comparing this creation to the rest of Mitchell's I would like to point out that in my opinion "Cloud Atlas" is in the lead. But "Number9Dream" can also be placed on my audiobookshelf. The plot is more simple, as well as the general idea, however, there are certainly some points which for me at least were thought-provoking. The story is full of unexpected twists so characteristic to Mitchell. What I did not like is the setting which is Japan; Japan is close to the author' heart and probably he has lived there for a long time, but his understanding and description of the country's life is totally different from Japanese authors (Murakami as an example) and I tend to trust locals more. For me Japan was too English, but it is just my personal opinion. Another deficiency in my view is action which sometimes, unfortunately, is created for entertainment only and without sense.
Second: performance. All in all the narration is good except some minor deficiencies. Sometimes while reading William Rycroft is too fast skipping from one piece of narration to the next and, bearing in mind that the story has quite a lot of sudden twists, it is confusing to understand what's happening. There is no change of voice in some dialogues which also slows down the general understanding of such parts of the book. But eventhough these inconsistencies the narrator felt the main topic of the story and gives no false impression of the book to listener. Thus derives the mark.
Summing up: although there are some drawbacks in general performance my marks are fives for the performance and the story and four overall for the setbacks.
Hope that this review will be of some help to future choosers. Enjoy the audiobook.
Read full review

- George

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-02-2012
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks