Nothing Serious : Drones Club

  • by P. G. Wodehouse
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: Drones Club
  • 6 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Filled with faces old and new, this collection of stories from the master of humor promises pure entertainment for audiobook lovers everywhere.
P. G. Wodehouse's famed collection of 10 stories marks the reappearance of many old friends - who find themselves in delightfully absurd situations. In "How's That, Umpire?", a mutual hatred of cricket reunites two lovers. In "Birth of a Salesman", Lord Emsworth has strayed from Blandings Castle to become an encyclopedia salesman for a day. "Success Story" tells of Ukridge's finest swindle yet - after which he finally emerges triumphant in the struggle against his fearsome aunt Julia.
Other stories include "The Shadow Passes", "Bramley Is So Bracing", "Up From the Depths", "Feet of Clay", "Excelsior", "Rodney Has a Relapse", and "Tangled Hearts".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Wodehouse, poorly served by Simon Vance

These stories range from Good Wodehouse--which is better than most authors manage on their best days--to Great Wodehouse--which is about the best one can hope for.

For me, Jonathan Cecil is the definitive voice of Wodehouse and I find Simon Vance substantially inferior--both in his style and in his limited ability to provide unique, instantly recognizable voices to a wide range of characters within a story.

Most unforgivably, Vance mis-pronounces the name of that Man of Wrath, Stanley Featherstonehaugh Ukridge. His constant use of "Uh-kridge" instead of "You-kridge" grated so painfully on my ear that "Success Story" was almost un-listenable.

I am disappointed to see that Vance appears to the reader of choice for the latest round of Wodehouse audiobooks. I hope that a more worthy successor to the legendary Jonathan Cecil can be found.

Read full review

- NK Turoff

Superb - Classic Wodehouse

Simon Vance is a great narrator for Wodehouse's work. The stories are brillantly funny, and the last story is one of the best. Thanks to whatever God there may be for Woodhouse.
Read full review

- K

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-10-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.